The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag!

Can you believe it’s already August?! The summer’s practically gone, which means I’m frantically playing catch up with my Goodreads Reading Challenge, and therefore, it seemed the perfect time to do the aptly titled Mid-Year Book Freak Out tag!

I was tagged by the amazing Ann, Ally and Kerstin, and I would like to tag some people on here but I’m a WordPress newbie and I don’t know how! Please consider yourself tagged if you read this, and feel free to let me know if you know how to tag people on here!

So, without further ado, onto the tag!

Best book you’ve read so far in 2017?

Six Stories by Matt WesolowskiI’ve got to say Six Stories by Matt Wesolowski! It genuinely caught me completely off-guard; I was expecting it to be a kind of 3-star palette cleanser between fantasy books, but I devoured it and absolutely loved it! (Here’s my review of it, if you’d like to find out more!)

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017?

Hmm, probably A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab. A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir is a close second, though!

New release you haven’t read yet, but want to?

Final Girls by Riley Sager. I’m a sucker for a good crime/psychological book. Essentially anything with murder involved gets my attention!

Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini TaylorBiggest disappointment?

Hmm, this is a tricky one. I haven’t read anything flat-out disappointing, but I found Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor fell a bit flat compared to its predecessor, Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Similarly, Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes didn’t have the same unputdownable-ness of the first book in the series, You, but was by no means a bad book.

Biggest surprise?

I don’t want to say Six Stories again, so I’ll say When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi. Poignant and inspirational, it’s really changed my outlook on life. (You can read my review of it here, if you’re interested!)

Favourite new author? (Debut or new to you)

Okay, so there’s a raft of great authors I can put here! Becky Chambers, Sara Pascoe (thanks Jo!), Sabaa Tahir, Emma Donoghue (thanks Lucy!), Matt Wesolowski, and my most recent fave, Victoria Schwab (otherwise known as V.E. Schwab).

Newest fictional crush?

Haha, good question! I think Elias from An Ember in the Ashes – he’s moral, caring, puts others before himself, brave – sorry, am I gushing?! He also sounds like he’d be easy on the eye from the description 😉

A Darker Shade of Magic by VE SchwabNewest favourite character?

Maybe Lila Bard from the Shades of Magic series. Doesn’t take any crap, strong female lead, and a badass to boot!

Book that made you cry?

Okay, I know I’ve already mentioned When Breath Becomes Air, but it’s the only one I’ve cried at! Heart of stone, me 😉 (I joke; the other day, I cried a bit at a photo of a happy dog in a hat).

Book that made you happy?

Animal by Sara Pascoe. Tackles some important and interesting issues in a light-hearted, accessible, and amusing manner! Total diamond in the rough – more people need to read it!

Room by Emma DonoghueFavourite book to film adaptation you saw this year?

Ooh. Tricky, because I can’t check Goodreads to see what I watched! Maybe Room, A Monster Calls, or The Girl on the Train. I definitely watched those this year and enjoyed them – in fact, I actually preferred the film of The Girl on the Train! As a bonus answer, I’m also reeeeally looking forward to the TV adaptation of The Cuckoo’s Calling on August 27 – I LOVED the book!

Favourite review you’ve written this year?

I really enjoyed writing up my Six Stories review!

Grimm's Complete Fairy Tales Leather-Bound Edition Barnes and NobleMost beautiful book you’ve bought or received so far this year?

My Barnes and Noble leather-bound collection of Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales. It looks like a spell book from a movie or something!

What books do you want to read by the end of the year?

Oh, so many! The Fourth Monkey by J.D. Barker (thanks Maraia!), A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab, Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare (felt stupid writing that out – who doesn’t know who that’s by?!), The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, The Road by Cormac McCarthy, A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara, The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt – we could seriously be here all day, so I’m going to stop listing now!

Which book do you most want to read by the end of the year? What’s been your favourite of 2017 so far? Leave me a comment!

Please feel free to do this tag if you would like to! 🙂

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag!

  1. Louise ✨🦇 says:

    I want to read VE Schwab’s books so badly, but I don’t really know where to start with them because they all get rave reviews 🙈 My favourite books I’ve read so far this year are The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon, and Fallout by Gwenda Bond 😊

    Like

    • Tsundoku Girl Reads says:

      I started with the Shades of Magic series; I’m a newbie too! I’m really enjoying them though, so I think it’s a good place to start! Ooh, the first two you listed are on my tbr, but I haven’t heard of the last one! What’s it about? 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

